About Us

Our History to date

In 2014, four south Edmonton congregations with common challenges and purposes, began a journey together to forge a future of hope, renewal and relevance. These became member congregations of the new United on Whyte Pastoral Charge, approved by Edmonton Presbytery in November of 2015.

Today, these congregations, Avonmore, Knox-Metropolitan, Pleasantview and Ritchie United Churches, share and worship together in the building located at 7909 82 Avenue NW.

Pastoral Charge Board

The United on Whyte Pastoral Charge Board was officially installed in February 2016. It meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month and accepts reports and recommendations from these committees:

Administration & Finance
Christian & Spiritual Development
Ministry & Personnel
Property & Rentals

The Board's members are:

Cathy Martin (Chair)
Charlotte La Rose
Chris Meintzer
Colin Fraser
Dianne Houwing
Eva Cooper
George Bell
Karen Aistrope
Kevin Gue
Pat Williams
Phyllis Verhaar
Roslyn Thomson
Susan Bramm

Transition Team

An essential part of any change in the structure of a pastoral charge is an intentional focus on the transition process. With the support of Edmonton Presbytery, our Transitional Minister, Reverend Heather D. Wright, has been appointed to provide leadership through the many stages of coming together. A Transition Team of eight people has been selected (six by members of the United on Whyte Pastoral Charge and two by Edmonton Presbytery) to guide the transition process.

They are:
Sue Verhun
Irene Chua
Caroline Harysh
Heather Baker
Judy Meintzer
Helen Newsham
Presbytery representatives: Wayne Youngward and Reverend Terrie Jackson